Skip navigation


Eligibility and Claims


October 1, 2015, was the deadline for the implementation of the 10th revision of the International Classification of Diseases (ICD-10). The adoption of ICD-10 will result in increased accuracy of coding and will reduce the need for supporting documentation for claim submissions. 

Please visit the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) website for the latest information.

Highlights of ICD-10

  • The number of ICD-10 codes, including diagnosis codes and procedure codes, increased from approximately 14,000 codes to over 170,000.
  • The most significant diagnosis codes (ICD-10-CM) and procedure codes (ICD-10-PCS) have more digits than ICD-9 codes (note that HCPCS codes and CPT® are unaffected).
  • ICD-10 allows for improved specificity.
  • ICD-10 coding provides more detailed clinical information about conditions, diseases, and injuries.
  • ICD-10 codes use more precise medical terminology.

ICD-10 Acknowledgement Testing

Health Partners Plans recently released a new 20-page ICD-10 Coding Guide booklet designed to serve as a helpful coding resource for our provider network. This booklet is intended to reduce the amount of time office personnel spend determining ICD-10 coding information from more expansive ICD-10-CM coding books, and can help ensure that your claims are processed in an accurate and timely manner.

The codes listed in the booklet include ICD-10 Diagnosis Codes that are commonly excluded from claim submissions, as well as an assortment of HEDIS/STARS measure codes.